Studio Miessen is based in Berlin. We are a decentrally-organized group of architects, designers, and researchers currently working on projects in Europe, Asia, North America and the Middle East.

Interested in the deployment of Critical Spatial Practice as a methodology, we collaboratively work and consult on conceptualizing and implementing architecture on all scales as well as projects that include spatial design, strategic frameworks, research, curatorial and discursive activities in order to create the most suitable packages for our clients. From our international network of experts covering diverse practices, we provide customized approaches for each project.

Studio Miessen works with individuals, collectives, institutions and organizations and specializes in spatially rethinking, redesigning and promoting cultural institutions. We also work closely with artists, who we assist to realize small-to-large-scale spatial ideas and support them in realizing exhibitions and large-scale institutional shows. Our work also includes self-initiated activities and projects that span from physical construction to writing and criticism.

Our practice is based on dialogue. We prefer to go through the entire process of a project with our clients – from beginning to end. But we can also help you redefine an existing space or project. At first, we listen.


Markus Miessen
Principle Architect

Berta Cusó Cuquerella, Christoph Degenhard, Anna Lena Kortmann


Beatriz Dias, Heejung Kim, Catarina Louza Brito

Junior Architects

Past Team

  • Julian Meisen
  • Zoë Ritts
  • Pablo Santacana
  • Carolina Simão
  • Dinara Zhubaniyazova
  • Pelin Alkan
  • Tasos Antonopoulos
  • Anni Leo
  • Giannella Cocco
  • Paula Palermo
  • Torben Körschkes
  • Felix McNamara
  • Frixos Petrou
  • Daqian Cao
  • Theresa Kraus
  • Benjamin Nicaud
  • Paul Bourigan
  • Estelle Jullian
  • Bas van Bentum
  • Lea Lin Böhmer
  • Daniel Springer
  • Diogo Passarinho
  • Yulia Startsev
  • Martin Pohl
  • Márk Redele
  • Aimee Burnett
  • Sophie Burgess
  • Mehran Mojtahedzadeh
  • Thalia Chrambolapolous
  • Ana Cosma
  • Amer Jbeili
  • Caspar Noyons
  • Mahan Shirazi
  • Hamed Bukhamseen
  • Nina Valerie Kolowratnik